The More You Learn. (Late Post)

Witten 5/7/16

It has now been a month since I got box braids and I am still loving them just as much as I did then and maybe even more so now! I got them touched up over the weekend so that I can wear them for another month. In a months time my hair has grown quite a bit and I can’t wait to see the results after I take them down. Brandon is even excited! Until then, I will enjoy and make the most out of my braids, seeing as I may not get them again for a while.

This post I wanted to share a little more about my journey. In my post It All Started I had mentioned that I felt as though I am on an introspective, spiritual journey. For those of you who are on the same path you may understand where I’m coming from, for those of you who don’t know… I would like to share with you.

I have never been the girl to care much about how other people took my appearance, especially when it came to hair. My hair was not always the best, it was not always healthy and wasn’t long. I didn’t care. The people who I went to school with didn’t seem to care either, nor did those I worked with. So, I have always stood with confidence in myself, even with my hair as unhealthy as it was.

From time to time in my life I would get tired of it, I cut it all off… TWICE. I started experimenting with weave in college to try something new. All while still having confidence. I had relaxed hair all the way up to now. I have never seen what my natural hair is like. To be honest I didn’t want to go natural. I wasn’t ready to jump in like so many around me were. I was going to go natural when I was ready and not for anyone else but myself.

You never think something as simple as hair could make you feel all kinds of ways about things you never thought about. Since being natural I have this growing sense of pride. I’m proud to be everything that I am. I have this “I’m Black and Proud” mentality going on, and I am enjoying it. I have grown more in touch with my culture. I want to know more about where I came from, MY history. I want to connect more with women like me. Through this journey  I feel more connected with my fellow women of color (woc).

There was a time when I didn’t really fit in with a group of girls because they were city and I was country. I am not a stereo-typical woc so I was cast out. Didn’t matter to me, I found other women to hang with that were more like myself. Now that I have gone natural and I have connected with other naturals, I am finding more and more women to relate to. It is refreshing!

I think that’s were the “black and proud” is coming from. Brandon has been the biggest encouragement for me. He tells me often, ‘honey you are a strong, beautiful, natural black woman, own it’ and let me tell you there is nothing like having your loved one behind you cheering you on. I have taken his advice to heart. Why should I feel ashamed of my natural hair, why should I be ashamed of who I am, where I come from?

I shouldn’t. I don’t. Believe it or not ‘going natural’ has given me MORE confidence in myself. I have learned so far that no matter what form I decided to take natural, braids, weave or whatever, I stand with love and confidence in myself. No one and nothing can ever take that from me and that is one of the best things I have learned on this journey.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The More You Learn. (Late Post)

Your thoughts?

