Last Time I Checked Your Skin is the Same Color As Mine

It is black history month here in the U.S. I have been so busy with other things that I have not had time to stop and celebrate or do any research on things I did not know. Well I was having lunch with a friend of mine and a joke was make. I let it pass and later addressed it.

Afterward I began to think about it more. The joke that was made was that I was not ‘black‘, now it was a joke, however it can be more than that for someone, say someone like myself.

I grew up in the Midwest. I’m a country girl but I can be city too, at least I’d like to think so. The statement ‘you aint black’ is something that my sister and I have been dealing with our whole lives. We grew up in a small town with predominantly white people. It did not make any difference to us, hell we did not even notice to this day we still don’t care.

For me I always got from people,’ you don’t talk black’ or ‘why you trying to sound like a white girl’. Well for one, I was not aware that the way I spoke had a color. I speak using proper English, I can not help that, it’s simply how I was raised. Just like some people speak in all slang or a different language. I am simply myself and a reflection of my upbringing and surrounds, just like everyone else.

I identify myself as a Black American Women however that is not the only thing I identify myself as. I identify myself with band geeks, fashionistas, bookworms, clean freaks, music lovers, happy people, college students, tax payers, strong people. I am not just the color of my skin and neither is anyone else of an other ethnicity or race. 

We as blacks have to stop the racism within our own race. It is taring us down, not only that but you are doing the same thing that others within your race have fought against. I do not just mean this for blacks, but anyone in any ethnicity/race. Each ethnicity has a different culture and each person has his/her individuality. We all should be embracing our differences and celebrating our culture as one.

Being told ‘you aint black’ because of something you may have said or done hurts. Not everyone has this experience but I know there are more people out there that go through this. When it happens and if it does bother you, stand up and say something! The more we continue to allow this to happen the more people will began to think it is okay. It is not okay, it’s racism. I do not care who you are, what color you are, if you are taring that person down because you think they are not ‘this’ or ‘that’ you are only crippling the progress that is trying to be make for acceptability.

We have people all over the world fighting to be what they want, marry who they want. It is a hard fight, especially when no one is at your side to support you or tell you that you are great just the way you are. Until you experience this for yourself, and I hope that you don’t, you will never understand. It is hard enough living this life, even more so when people make it harder for you.

I am ME! I am goofy, fun, trusting, kind, understanding, educated, cultured, silly, organized, respectful, and helpful.

Why can’t you open your eyes and see past what the ‘stereotype’ should be and just see that person for who they truly are….Human, just like you, me, him over there in Italy, her in Chile, the little kid with autism, the person who has never seen color, the man who lost his legs in an accident. These are people, living breathing people. Apart of a county, yes! Apart of a state, yes! Apart of a town/city, yes! Apart of a family, yes! Apart of an ethnicity, yes! Apart of a race, yes!

The Human Race.

Happy Black History Month.

This post is dedicated to my sister, the one who will always stand by my side. I love you sis!

Your thoughts?

